BBQ Fitness

Happy fourth of July friends!!

I absolutely love long holiday weekends. It’s always such a great time to get together with family & friends for bbq’s and fun.

And when I say fun….I mean it.

My weekend fun fitness activities came in a different form than usual this weekend.

Bocce ball anyone?

267617_10150236490551105_715951104_7602736_2043435_n

Bocce ball is fun game that can be played in your backyard. I like to think of it as cross between horseshoes and shuffle board (but on grass).

The object of the game is to get your colored ball closest to a smaller ball that is thrown into the grass somewhere.

261647_10150236490116105_715951104_7602731_3160404_n

270682_10150236490466105_715951104_7602735_5332826_n

***

There was also a nice game of Lasso Golf to be played as well.

026

You have two stands about 10 feet apart from each other, and you are trying to lasso your colored balls on the different colored bars of the stand across from you.

Each bar counts for different points earned if you lasso it.

031

033

I was rocking team blue since I had done so well the day before at Bocce with blue.

***

The boys decided to make up their own game…which they called “Let’s see who can throw the 40 lb sand bag the farthest”.

028

I guess they had different marks on the deck that counted for different points if your sandbag landed there.

030

It was quite amusing to watch, but there was no way I was going to jump in on this one. LOL! 🙂

***

Then there was also an oldie, but goodie…. Beer Pong!

035

I’m always a spectator in this game, never a player.

036

But it’s always fun to watch others get their play on!

***

I love that I was able to squeeze in some fitness related games in the mix of all the bbqs.

I can’t believe how much fun I’ve had this weekend and I still have one more full day of holiday fun to be had. 🙂

What bbq party games do you play?  Playing Lasso golf was a first, but I can see being a new favorite.

8 thoughts on “BBQ Fitness

  1. Ooh… I enjoy playing bocce ball. And I also love lasso golf, although here in MN we call it “cowboy golf.” I’ve also heard the term “Polish horseshoes” used for that game before.

    Believe it or not, I’ve never played beer pong. I’ll have to find myself a BBQ where I can finally play it. 🙂

  2. I never play BBQ games but love that you guys did it.

    Bocce ball looks like Jeu de boules that is played here in Holland (originally a French game).

  3. Pingback: Blogger Run-Up « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  4. Team Blue Bocce Balls rules!! We had so much fun with you guys and I can’t wait to see you for all the amazing July wedding activities!

Leave a Reply

