The Experiment: Day #1

Things are spicing up over here! 

I am excited to announce that I won a chance to participate in the K-Y Intimacy Experiment from Drunk Auntie awhile back.

And I couldn’t have been more ecstatic when my fun box arrived over the weekend.

040

At first I thought the package might be a wedding present, but upon further inspection the words K-Y caught my eye. We’ll just call this an “early” wedding present to both J. and I.

***

The K-Y Intamacy experiment is a 10 day experiment that was developed to help spice things up in the bedroom as well as help couples to reconnect on a more intimate level.

When I thought about the timing of this experiment, I wondered how could we possibly need to spice things up in our lives right now, we are 18 days away from marrying eachother. But once I thought more about it, I realized this is the absolute PERFECT time to jump start a lifetime of love and intimacy together.

With all the wedding planning comes not a lot of time or focus for anything else. So J. Alabama and I vowed to take on this 10 day experiment as a way to become even closer before our big day.

So I will be blogging about my experience of the experiment over the next 10 days.

***

We kicked off the experiment last night!

Day #1: Our project was to create a “Love Nest”.

With J. Alabama moving into my apartment in a few weeks, this project came as a godsend. Let’s turn this mess into a  love nest! 🙂

Before: 

027

After:

033

We were encouraged to add candles and sensual smells to the room as well as doing away with all clutter.

Before:

028

After: 

035

I realized that I have no framed pictures of us in my house and bought some cheap and cutsie frames from target to frame a few of our favs.

And I set up the iPad to the Damien Rice station on Pandora to get us into “the mood”.

Before: 

029

034

The after picture had the look and feel of a hotel room! Love it!

Before: 

030

037

Who knew that just closing the doors would block out all that noise of the cluttered closet.

***

Part two of the experiment for Day 1 was to reap the rewards of our hard labor of making our love nest.

The candles, the mood music and lack of a mess and clutter made it so J. Alabama and could fully focus on one another for the entire night. It was definitely a night that ended in a firework show. 😉

***

I wrote this while participating in a blog campaign on behalf of K-Y® Brand and also received product samples to help facilitate my review. For more information, visit the K-Y Intimacy Experiment tab on Couples Place.

8 thoughts on “The Experiment: Day #1

  1. I read somewhere that devoting your bedroom to a room for only “bedroom” activities (instead of a bedroom/hobby/exercise/etc. room) actually increases a married couple’s happiness. You’re definitely starting off on the right foot! Nice makeover!

  2. I love the makeover. What Richelle says is what my bedroom is: just for bedrooms activities. We even got rid of the tv in the bedroom a couple of years ago.

    This is an interesting experiment and I look forward to hearing more about it.

  3. Ooooh I am intrigued and can’t wait to see what the rest of your “assignments” are. I love this idea and agree that the timing is perfect!

    Your new love nest looks sooo much more warm, inviting and romantic. Love it! I am a fanatic about NOT having clutter around – it stresses me out and I can’t relax. This was a worthwhile project!

  4. u naughty girl! hahhahahah
    this is fun! i totally support bloggers who want to talk about more intimate things.

    good for you for going through with this! looking forward what the rest of the 9 days will bring..

    and isnt it true that just a little bit of cleaning up and decluttering makes things so much sexier in the bedroom.

    good luck, the future mr. and mrs!

  5. Pingback: Run in the name of Love! « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

