“Something Borrowed”

*Today’s post is part of my on-going Wedding Wednesday Series. A chance for me to ramble on about non-running wedding related stuff.*

***

As the old wedding tradition goes, I’ve  got my “something old”, my “something new”, my “something blue”, which all but left my “something borrowed” to find.

I was starting to get panicked. Because I have my all my wedding jewelry picked out, my shoes, my headpiece, even my garter.

What was left to “borrow”?

I quickly racked my brain…think think think! What was I missing?

Well it might seem like the obvious choice to you all, but not to me at first. Because, you might remember this whole post about my headpiece? Well at that time I was not 100% sure about the whole wearing the veil thing.

I’m not sure why I was resisting it, but I was.

But the more and more I thought about it, the more I realized this is my one chance to wear a veil and I might as well take advantage of it.

Except I didn’t want to buy one.

The longer you plan a wedding, the more and more things start adding up, and spending $100+ on a piece of mesh to wear for 10 minutes just made me want to vomit.

So I did something that felt really weird to do. I asked my lovely friend & brand new bride Tara if I could borrow her veil.

032

She said yes! Which was such an amazing gift!

Well I was so excited and couldn’t wait to try it on with my dress and full ensemble yesterday. That is until my mom pointed out that the veil is white and my dress is off white.

There was no way around it, the white and off-white just do not mesh.

So today, I sit here…a few days from my own wedding. No veil, and nothing borrowed. But I’m not freaking out just yet.

I’m putting it out to the universe that my veil or something borrowed will find me in the next few days.

I’m okay with not wearing a veil, but I was just finally coming around to being excited about it.

My plan today is to call every wedding store in Boise and find out if they rent veils. A rented (off-white) veil could equal a something borrowed in my book.

I would even go so far as to buy one if it looked good with my dress, though that wouldn’t account for my “borrowed” item.

We will all just have to wait and see what the something borrowed is, and if it’s a veil or no veil kind of wedding.

We will all just have to wait and see! 🙂

***

I can’t believe this is my last official Wedding Wednesday before the big day! Thank you for all your love and support!

Happy Wedding Wednesday!! Next Wednesday I will officially be Mrs. Alabama! 🙂

15 thoughts on ““Something Borrowed”

  1. I’ve got chicken skin here (do you use that expression). It means you read something that gets you emotional and the sencente “Next Wednesday I’ll officially be Mrs. Alabama! brought tears in my eyes.

    Linzi again: have a fantastic, beautiful, fabulous, emotional, filled with laughter and joy day!

    And thank you for taking us on your journey leading up to the big day. I’ve enjoyed every part of it.

    Though we have never met and chances are never will: love you!

  2. i got emotional, once again. u r soooo soon gonna be mrs. j. alabama! yay

    now for something borrowed….can you borrow something from ur mom or grandma. a hair clip or a small purse. or maybe borrow something from j.alabama’s family?

    good luck and i hope u find something!

  3. Well i hope you find something. My veil was about 100 dollars and it seems like a lot but the other ones were even more expensive! Its like just cause it says wedding its automatically more money! I am sure you will look beautiful either way!

  4. I got married on a beach in December – my wedding dress cost $19 because it was a summer dress. 😀

    I am sure everything will work out just beautifully!! So excited for you!!!!

  5. Pingback: My Wedding Look « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

