Vinyasa at the Vineyard

When a Yoga and Wine Adventure from Living Social popped up in my email a few weeks ago, I knew there was no doubt I was going to partake!

And I had a few friends who all the same idea. Yoga on a vineyard? Don’t mind if we do!

006

So we arrived at Wood River Cellars Winery yesterday morning excited for the events to unfold. 007

We picked our spot in the nice shade, ready to get our yoga on!

012

009

We enjoyed the beautiful scenery as we were waiting for the start of our Yoga & Wine adventure. 008

010

Then it was time to get serious!

016

017

The yoga was a lot more stretching than anything else. The stretching felt great, but wasn’t as great of a yoga workout as I was hoping for.

I loved the idea of doing yoga outside, but I always struggle with the unevenness of the ground. It was a little tougher to get the moves just right.

But us ladies had fun anyways!

015

Then it was wine time! Oh yeah!

We walked into the wine tasting area to find each of had a wine placement explaining the different wines we would try, a lovely wine opener, and a Wood River Cellars wine glass (filled with our first tasting) for us to take home.  020

After our hot yoga session, they encouraged us to take advantage of some appetizers. MMMmmm!

A perfect plate of eats with a refreshing glass of Sweet Pink. 022

I’m actually a big fan of sweet wines, but this one just wasn’t doing it for me yesterday.

Then it was on the to the Chardonnay. I liked this one better than the Sweet Pink, but still it wasn’t my favorite.

026

023

And then it was Merlot time. I’m not usually a Merlot fan, and I was pleasantly surprised that I was digging this one.

027

Before each wine was served, the Winemaker would give a little explanation of the grapes and how it was made. It was fun to learn about the wines as we tried them.

Then it was time to tour the winery and learn more about the wine making process!

028

Oh, and they were serving wine straight from the barrel. This one had a kick of black pepper. It was so interesting.

030

We obviously took advantage of all the tasting opportunities.

031

After our tour of the winery, we were greeted with on last and final tasting. The Wood River Cellars Port.

I think Victoria liked it! I know a Port (which is super super sweet) is one of my favs, but definitely has a time and a place.

035

I would probably only drink this one with dessert and on special occasions.

033

We finished our lovely day off, by stepping inside to the actual tasting room. The ladies bought a few souvenirs from the day. 038

Me on the other hand, have quite the wine collection going on after all the wedding festivities. So I did not purchase any this time, but I frequent this winery quite often. I know I will be back!

All and all it was a super fun day! I truly loved the combination of a Yoga and Wine adventure. And am now on the lookout for any other Living Social Adventures!

***

Guest Blogging… Today I’m guest blogging over at Sweet Caroline. Go check it out and give Caroline’s blog some bloggy love. My post is titled…So, You Wanna Run a Marathon? My 6 steps to running a marathon! 🙂

***

Happy Monday Friends!! Back tomorrow with my last segment of Honeymooning in Playa del Carmen!

11 thoughts on “Vinyasa at the Vineyard

  1. It looks like you had so much fun! I’m not a fan of the sweet wines, but I’m always open to trying new wines. I love when you can mix drinking with exercise like we did yesterday golfing. Usually I don’t drink when I golf, but my performance definitely warranted some drinks on the course :).

  2. This sounds so fun- right up my alley! Love it 🙂

    I always order port wine after dinner if it’s a special occasion. I have an affinity towards it since I have a port wine stain birthmark on my leg- it’s fate, after all 😉

  3. Okay now I’m jealous! I love wine and the combination with yoga is such a fun day. I think I have to emigrate to the US because you guys have so many more fun events than us Dutch people.

    What a great day!

  4. I redeemed a Living Social deal at an area winery myself two weekends ago. What a fantastic idea to combine yoga and wine! Sounds like you had a great time and tried some fantastic wines! I dig sweeter wines, too, and also fruit-forward reds. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Here’s to a Sweaty September! « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

