Sweetest 16

I knew you all believed I could run 16 miles, but I definitely did not do it alone.  🙂

Saturday morning I set out to run my longest distance run since last October.

010

At the start of my run I ended up running through a 10k race (the wrong way) which motivated me to run a wee bit faster than normal so I didn’t get trampled. I did end up seeing Cynthia all decked out for the Athena race on my way through the chaos.

Once I made it through all the racers I kept a very steady and great pace for me. I didn’t take one stop break until I reached the 10k mark. Six miles in a little over an hour is rocking for me! 🙂

I powered through my run until I hit the half way point of 8 miles.  I still felt amazing at this point.

009

It was then I was greeted by a much needed visitor...Destination 26.2 DAD!

He so lovingly agreed to meet me at the half-way point and ride next me for the last half.

007

I knew 16 was going to be tough for me and any motivation (and extra water) was going to be crucial to me finishing this run.

We did stop for a quick photo by the Diversion Dam. Had to get a picture of the damn dam ya know!

008

And to be honest, I’m still in amazement I ran this far out. This dam is definitely on the way out of town.

I seriously ran to the dam and back! Crazy sauce!

011

I still managed to keep a steady pace until around the 10 mile point.

I’m pretty sure that I ran too fast the first half, and now I was paying for it.  So I started to slow down a bit.

013

Destination 26.2 Dad kept a constant stream of encouragment throughout my run though. It was so needed and appreciated!

And he even walked his bike next to me when I had to take longer walk breaks.

012

Around the 14 mile point, I was in excruciating pain. The heat was starting to get to me, and my hip flexors and calves were screaming.

But I was still 2 miles away from my home, so there was nothing to do but run/walk the rest of the way home. (There was more walking than running those last 2 miles).

But WE did it!

014

16 freaking miles in 3.5 hours! I don’t even care that it took me so long to do it, it’s the fact that I finished.

And I know I would not have made it without the support of my dad riding next to me!

019

I told him I would buy him lunch and an iced cold beer if he let me sit in my “ice bath” for just a few minutes at the end of the run.

Well after riding his bike at the slowest speed possible for 2.5 hours I was going to buy him lunch anyways.

015

The icy cold river water definitely helped me feel better after this crazy long run.

018

And so did the delicious iced cold beer. Mmmmm!

021

This 16 mile run was dubbed The Sweetest 16 not because it was my best run ever, but because of the best company ever. (THANK YOU DAD!)

022 023

I am so proud of myself for accomplishing this run. For some reason it was haunting me every day up until I just did it.

But it sure helped to have one of my biggest fans out there cheering me on when it got tough.

Happy Running friends!

25 thoughts on “Sweetest 16

  1. That is sooo awesome that your dad supports you so much. You are lucky to have a great family all close by that will come help you out.

  2. Great job on the 16! I knew you could do it! It is so nice to have company on long runs – I haven’t run a solo long run in sooo long!

  3. Great job getting the run done! That is a great accomplishment!! It was so awesome seeing you. I recognized your hat and figured I’d get closer to make sure it was you so of course I had to wave like crazy when I saw you 🙂

  4. That is so sweet of your Dad to meet up with you and help you complete your run. And what a great way to spend time together. 🙂

    Great job getting those miles in!

  5. great to see you on sat! Congrats you animal you!
    What a greast Dad! B has been there for me on some long runs and it sure helps… nothing like company and a sherpa!

  6. That’s awesome Linz, and what a great Dad you have to accompany you. My friend has been running longer distances than me lately, so I un my distance, then pick up my bike and follow alongside her for her last 6-8 miles. She really enjoys me carrying the water, and the conversation, while she slogs through those last miles. Nice that your Dad is doing that for you. Still jealous of your ‘ice bath’. If I had one like that I might actually use it.

  7. Awesome run Linzi, well done and congrats on tackling this distance again.

    And so sweet of your Dad to accompany you at your last 8 miles, he’s the greatest and totally deserved that lunch and beer but so did you.

  8. Pingback: Lots-a Hot Yoga « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  9. Way to go Linzi!! So happy your Dad was there to cheer you on, Dads are the best!! Linzi, you look amazing and strong!! Keep it up!!

  10. AWESOME! I love that your dad rode with you. Sometimes my dad does and I love the one-on-one time. We don’t get that too often.

    And what a beautiful run! That dam is amazing!

    And I love that you take ice baths immediately afterward. I should start doing that 🙂

  11. Pingback: Bootay Shakin’ Madness « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  12. Pingback: Here’s to a Sweaty September! « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

