Partner Run & Belt Review

My Saturday morning started by me getting up at 6:00 am to embark on a shorter long run (12 miles).

And then I somehow woke up on my couch around 8:15 am to realize that I had fallen asleep while getting ready for my run. 😦

So somebody volunteered to hit the trails with me instead.

018

None other than J. Alabama himself! What a guy, I tell ya!

We haven’t ran together since last November, so it was a special treat that he offered to chase run me through the foothills.

010

We don’t usually run together because his warm-up runs usually pace somewhere around my all time fast sprints.

But he promised to run slower and I promised to give it my all.

013

And off into the foothills we went!

It was the most beautiful morning and the cooler temps helped to make this an enjoyable run -not to mention the great company!

015

We ended up running a 5 mile out and back, with my last mile being completed at around a 9 minute/mile pace!

They say couple’s who run together stay together…I’m all for that! Even if it is only once a year!

And his speedy run is definitely going to count as speed work for my marathon training.

***

Now onto my Nathan Running Belt Review!

012

After a few miles of experimenting with placement I found the perfect spot for the belt to sit without any jiggling or issues.

I usually wear my running belt a little lower on my hips, but this belt actually felt better higher up.

002

I absolutely loved the way the water bottles just slip into the belt, unlike my last belt where they clicked in (which usually resulted in them un-clicking and falling out during my run).

There are extra bungees on both sides of the belt to hang gu’s or to store a pair of gloves.

001

And the pack in the back is HUGE! I could fit my cell phone, four gu’s, keys, and there was still room.

The only issue I have with this belt is that the pack is in the back, and I’m one of those runners who like my camera at easy access. It takes a little work to maneuver anything from the pouch while running.

But other than that, I’m a happy happy runner with my new belt!

***

This week I’m blogging from Northern Idaho at a work conference, so that means lots of hotel food and squeezing in time at the tiny fitness facility. At least the treadmill works! 3.25 miles this morning already. Woo hoo!

Hope you all have a happy Monday!!

15 thoughts on “Partner Run & Belt Review

  1. Glad you had a nice run with your hubby! Thanks for the review – I just won this same belt at a race and haven’t had a chance to try it out yet. Now, I can’t wait!

  2. Awesome! I love running with my husband, though it’s been quite a while since he’s been stupid busy all this year. We used to run together a lot and he was the #1 source of improving my pace. His slow pace equals my fast pace too, but eventually I adapted and got much faster.

  3. That’s true love that he volunteered to go with you. I have a picture in my mind “you laying on the couch with one shoe on” or something, made me smile.
    Unfortunately my hub can’t run due to an accident few years ago but maybe that’s for the best because I don’t think I can keep up with him 🙂

    Have a good business trip Linzi.

  4. Awesome job on your run! I rarely run with my fiance but we go hiking together a lot. His knees used to bother him when he ran so I’ve been trying to get him into trail running in his vibrams (that he wears everywhere) because I think it’ll be a lot gentler on his knees!

Leave a Reply

