Potatoes to Peaches

As I’ve mentioned a few times, I married into the military life.

J. Alabama was commissioned in May to be an officer in the Army. By taking the vows to be his wife,  I also took the vows that I accept the terms of the military lifestyle.

To my surprise we received an email two weeks ago that is putting a little jump start to our military life.

He wasn’t projected to be doing the military thang officially until March of next year, so getting the news that we are to report October 31st was a little bit of a shock.

Thankfully though it does not affect my upcoming marathon. 🙂

Now we are a package deal — so it’s time to start packing our bags friends! And now that I’ve had a few weeks to think about our future I’m getting excited about this adventure to the South.

Oh yes, this born and raised Idaho Girl is starting the next chapter of her life with her husband in Georgia!

And I’m willing to put my beloved potatoes aside and take on the peachy life for awhile. Our stay in Georgia will be less than a year, and then who knows!

***

So needless to say, my life is more than just a whirlwind of crazy right now. Which I thought was going to die down after the wedding, but apparently not.

In a little over three weeks, I will be saying goodbye to a lovely place that I’ve spent roughly 28 years of my life.

I’m excited, scared, nervous….etc. So many emotions!

I think the military aspect has me the most nervous of all because I’m not really sure what to expect. But as any other unknown in my life, I’m ready to take on this adventure and learn as I go.

008005

So come October 25th, I will say farewell to my family, friends and the land of potatoes, and road trip it to the land of peaches.

Be sure to follow me on my adventures of becoming a military wife on the run! 😉

***

Anyone know of any good races in Georgia in November or December?

25 thoughts on “Potatoes to Peaches

  1. Ahhh I am excited for you! 🙂
    I was born and raised in good ol’ GA! I’m running there on Sunday. Google Run Georgia… there’s a website (forgive my laziness on looking it up and posting the link.. lol). Anyway… peaches are sweet! I think you will love it there. And DO let me know if you happen to pass through TN on your way or if you ever run a race in ATL (while living in GA) I would love to join you!

  2. awwwww that is sad. but you have a great life ahead of you with your best friend. you will make it great, i know it.

    plus, now we are both on the east side of the Americas!

  3. Ahhhh Linzi how exciting! Oh goodness moving and trying some place new is my very favorite! You have a great attitude about the situation which means you’ll do just fine with the move. 🙂

  4. WOW that came up quick. I know you were somewhat prepared for this, but I just couldn’t imagine just picking up and going like that, leaving my job and all. But I’ve never moved from my home town – heehee. Actually, now that I think about it, I could maybe use a dose of that right now. 🙂

    I kinda think it will be exciting and wish you all the best on your travels. Can’t wait to see all your new discoveries. Good luck!!

  5. Although I’m seriously devastated that you’re leaving I know that you will thrive where ever you go! You are amazing and Georgia’s not going to change that. You better come back to visit A LOT and keep writing your blog. Georgia (and J. Alabama) is lucky to have you.

  6. Oh wow! Such a big move but I am sure you will have so much fun together. Brian and I actually get newlyweds on our trip who live in Georgia and the husband is in the Army. Who knows, you could be going to the same base/place that they are at!

  7. Welcome to the South!! If I’m looking at the map correctly, is that Ft. Benning? I grew up about an hour away in the Auburn, AL area.

    I’m doing the Chickamauga Battlefield Marathon in GA on Nov. 12 (there is a half marathon option too) but that is a few hours north of where you will be. There are probably lots of races going on in the area and likely a pretty big running community in Columbus, GA (neighboring town)

    Best of luck! Let me know if you have any questions 🙂

  8. So you’re becoming a temporary Southern Belle, eh? Well, I live in Arkansas, and if you’re ever interested in making it up here (it would be “up” coming from Georgia… lol) for a run, there are a few fun ones that I will be doing. Also, the Little Rock Marathon is in March, and it’s always an awesome turnout. It will also be my first half marathon!! I know, a little far away from Georgia, but always a thought. 🙂

  9. Best of luck with your new move! That is coming up soon. I bet you’ll find lots of fun races in Georgia though, I always see good ones on blogs. I bet the road trip aspect of it will be fun too!

  10. Are you going to Ft. Benning? That’s where my husband did basic. I thought it was absolutely beautiful during the short time that I was there. Entering into the military life is overwhelming, but it is also a great adventure!*

  11. I am excited for you! I know you will make the most of living in Georgia and have new friends and running routes and favorite places figured out before you know it! 🙂

  12. I’m excited for you and all the adventures you’ll have living someplace entirely new. It is scary, but it’s also thrilling (in a good way) at the same time.

    My husband and I are running the Rock ‘N’ Roll Savannah Half-Marathon on November 5. I believe the race is sold out, but there are a lot of bloggers running it (apparently) and we’d love to have you cheer us on! It would be so cool to meet you, too! 🙂

  13. Wow such a big change!!

    I would love to know what happens to wife in the military. Do you find yourself a new job or become a housewife? I know you loved your job so I was wondering how you will handle that!! I’m sorry if this is a dumb question but I do not know anyone in the military 🙂

    All the best and can’t wait to hear all about your new adventures!!

  14. What an exciting news Linzi. Didn’t expect it to come so soon. I have the same question as Cynthia: are you going to try to find a new job?

    I’m sure everything will work out fine, you have J. Alabama on your side and the two of you will make it work there.

    Look forward to following this new stage in your life.

  15. Pingback: Sweaty September Indeed! « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  16. That’s so exciting Linz – you know Bawb and I have travelled the country and I’m sure you & Micah will see and enjoy many new things. With your outgoing personalities, you’ll make lots of new friends to share your adventure with!

  17. Wow, big news! I’m really excited for you guys. While it’s a big change, it’s a great opportunity for you to establish yourselves as a couple- you will become closer and your relationship even stronger!

    As a fellow military wife, I know how you feel 😉 If you ever want to chat, hit me up! And hooray for the east coast! 😀

  18. Pingback: Looking Back « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  19. Pingback: Lone Star | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

