Showing off my guns

I may hit up a body pump class here or there, but we all know I’m not talking about my muscles here.

I’m talking about my recent date to the gun range!

093

Now, some marriage advice I received early on was to compromise, and sometimes you just have to do some things that you just don’t want to do.

I’m not a “gun” person by any means, but being married to someone who is means that there will be guns around. So making myself comfortable around them is very important.

004

Hence why I purchased a groupon for J. Alabama’s birthday back in April that needed to be used up before we left.

It included a one hour range rental, gun rental, and a box of ammunition. Not bad for $20– and the fact that I told him I would shoot with him was pretty much priceless.

003

I appreciate that J. Alabama knows how sensitive I am about guns. And that he is really patience with me, and just wants to make sure I’m as comfortable as possible.

We started by him walking me through how to load the 9mm. I was able to load a few on my own, until the metal was too hard on my thumbs.

007

They don’t do many thumb strengthening exercises in body pump class. 😉

Once the gun was locked and loaded it was time to shoot.

008

I always get really shaky before I shoot, and forget to breathe. He reminded to breath in like I would in yoga class.

Thinking about yogic breathing helped me to calm down a lot and I finally got up the nerve to pull the trigger.

019

After three rounds I caught my bulls eye. Yeah!

A funny thing that happened while I was shooting though, was a casing off one of the bullets shot back and flew into my shirt. Talk about burning hot metal on my skin!

014

After we left the range, I felt pretty darn good about the whole experience. Dare I even say I had fun?

I understand why I need to feel comfortable with firearms, especially if they will be around me in the future. And I’m glad that I let myself get out my comfort zone a little bit.

It always really hard for me to do something like that this that I’m really not into, but learning something new is always good and it was nice to be able to do something as a couple.

***

Happy Thursday! I’m getting pumped for  my afternoon run with Cynthia.

8 thoughts on “Showing off my guns

  1. I’ve never been to a range before. I would like to go one day tho I should tell Gene. But not sure how patient he would be with me lol.

    I’m super excited for our run! In fact I am going to text you here in a few min about it 🙂

  2. I’ve been there with my J! I even have my own little pistol that I practice with. 🙂

    I think a lot of people are way more afraid of guns that they need to be. It’s kind of the old saying: guns don’t shoot people, people shoot people. That being said, I still get a little nervous firing one.

  3. thats totally cool! i have never been near a gun, let alone shoot one. id like to try it tho. wish they had groupon deals for her in toronto…the bf would totally love that.

    great date!

  4. Good for you for going and supporting your husband! We don’t own a gun, but Steven wants to go to the range from time to time and I get so nervous! 🙂 I need to try your yoga breathing 🙂

  5. I’ve done this a few times too but I’m so bad at it. You don’t have to worry when you ran in to me and I’m holding a gun, 100% chance I will miss you.

    Good for you coming out of your comfort zone and try this.

Leave a Reply

