Thanksgiving for Two

Our little Thanksgiving was a wonderful success!

034

He assured me that he was trying to smile. All the photos I was taking was keeping him from his turkey.

Since it was just the two of us yesterday, I tried hard not to go crazy with the side dishes and [ahem] the 12 lb turkey.

021

This was my first time ever attempting to cook a turkey,  and besides it getting into the oven late due to a “defrosting issue”, it came out perfectly!

026

I used this recipe solely based on her blog photos alone. It ended up being super moist and so delish!

***

So we kept it relatively simple with the sides, though we’ll still be eating Thanksgiving for at least another week.

035

Mashed [Idaho] potatoes w/ homemade gravy, roasted brussel sprouts, wheat rolls and turkey smothered w/ cranberries!

It was a feast indeed – and we even busted out the new fine china we received as a wedding gift.

029

Before we ate, I started off by reading a quote that had to do with gratitude.

Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life – it turns what we have into enough and more.

It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, and a stranger into a friend.

Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.

by Melody Beattie

 

After dinner it was time for Pumpkin Pie.

20111124110852

And not just any pumpkin pie, but mini pumpkin pies!

001 003

Since it was just the two of us, I thought it would be more fun to have individual pies – and the rest we can give away!

I found the idea for the mini pies here, and ended up using the Libby Pumpkin pie recipe on the can to make the filling.

We ended the evening with many a bottle of vino and an exciting game of cribbage (our fave). And I won!!! 🙂

***

HAPPY FRIDAY!

Yay or nay on black friday shopstravaganza?

No black friday shopping for this girl today… My agenda includes an easy run, my third trip to the Crossfit gym this week and a date with the husband to see Puss in Boots!

12 thoughts on “Thanksgiving for Two

  1. Your spread looks great! I’m sure y’all will look back on your first Thanksgiving together fondly. (I LOVED the first Thanksgiving that I spent with just my husband.)

    No shopping for me! I hate crowds.*

  2. Yum!! Looks like a great thanksgiving! We had a small gathering too, just Brian and I with his parents. We went over to his grandparents after dinner for dessert but it was still different not to have the house full of family!

  3. What a fun Thanksgiving! Your meal turned out perfectly (and looked quite delish, too!) and you and the hubs spent quality time together. I like your fine china, too.

    My hubby and I hosted Thanksgiving for our parents. Mark’s turkey turned out quite well and we broke out the fine china, too! Good times!

  4. You made Thanksgiving your Thanksgiving Linzi, new tradition for the two of you and I think you had a great day.

    Being a girl that doesn’t love shopping I would go with you today instead of shopping.

  5. Great job on the turkey! Roasting birds is way more intimidating than it really should be. I love the mini pumpkin pies, what a great idea. Such a good little housewife. 🙂

  6. Aww! I love that you busted out your china! And that you clarified that the potatoes are from Idaho. LOL. Yum. The best part of all of these holidays is the yummy leftovers! I hope you saved some of those mini pies for you 🙂

  7. Pingback: November in a Nutshell « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

