Ugli Juice

Earlier this week I was dead set on finding a health food store in my new city. I was searching for something along the lines of a Whole Foods, or Boise’s version of The Co-Op.

Alas, we found The Fresh Market.

20111206152159

It was everything I was hoping it would be. There was an extensive peanut butter aisle, beers & wines from around the world, and even some crazy and exotic fruit!

Camera Effects(18)

If you’ve been following me for awhile, you may know that I have a thing for weird fruit.

Well it is Fruity Friday afterall…so of course I could not deprive you of The Ugli fruit and all it’s goodness.

20111206145257

The Ugli Fruit originates from Jamaica and is known as “The exotic tangelo from Jamaica”.

According to the official UGLI fruit website, this fruit was discovered over 80 years ago growing wild. The tree that grew the fruit, was originally believed to have been a hybrid of Seville oranges and of the grapefruit and tangerine families.

009

And I was beyond excited to crack into it and see what this Ugli fruit was really all about.

It’s very easy to open an Ugli fruit. You slice it in half, just like you would a grapefruit.

013

For some reason the yellow center took me by surprise.

017

The next step is to peel it like an orange.

019020

The peel came right off!

Here is my fruit tasting assistant…

022

When it came down to trying the fruit, we agreed that it was a mixture of sour [like a grapefruit] and a faint orange taste.

But it wasn’t something I would want to eat just like an orange. So we quickly threw it into the juicer to see what Ugli fruit would taste like in juice form.

021 023

029

Better in juice form, but still on the sour side.

030

Then we got really creative, and played around with the juicer…and UGLI JUICE was born!

036

Complete with Colonel Carrot Strawberry top as our garnish.

***

UGLI Juice:

Throw all ingredients into juicer, garnish creatively and enjoy!

  • 1 Ugli fruit (peeled)
  • 3 carrots
  • 2 green apples
  • 1 pear
  • 6 strawberries

037

I’m not going to deny how ugly this probably looks, but how yummy it tasted.

The strawberries and carrots added a little sweetness the mix. In hindsight though, the green apples probably didn’t help cut the sourness.

***

014

So in closing, I would like to say that the fruit was just okay, and I know I would not spend the $2.99 in the future to buy it again.

Though it is fun to try something new from time to time!

Have you ever tried or heard of an Ugli fruit?

***

Happy Fruit Friday!!

12 thoughts on “Ugli Juice

  1. I’ve never heard of the ugly fruit! I live a stone’s throw from Whole Foods, but I never go there. (I’m scared!) maybe I’ll check it out to see if I can discover any new, exciting foods.*

  2. Yay! I love Fresh Market! You almost got me when you said “alas” (which btw actually means unfortunately, or with regret) and at first I thought you didn’t like it. But WHO couldn’t like Fresh Market?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

