A Family Favorite

After spending a year abroad in Italy in 2003, I came back bursting with Italian traditions to share with my family back home.

One being indulging in the ever popular Panettone bread during the Christmas holiday.

Camera Effects(26)

You’ve probably seen this box of bread when strolling through Cost Plus or in any specialty market and wondered what the heck it was all about.

It can be best described as a sort of sweet muffin cake bread.

Camera Effects(25)

For the first few years after my arrival back home from Italy we would buy this bread at Christmas time and eat slices with our coffee on Christmas morning.

But then my brother saw Giada turn this bread into a breakfast masterpiece.

Panettone French Toast!

Camera Effects(24)

If you follow Giada’s recipe, you will be sure to fall in love with just as our family did. Though, it’s not healthy by any means.

Every year we now adapt some sort of panettone french toast into our Christmas morning breakfast. And it’s as glorious as it looks.

Camera Effects(23)

It’s funny how traditions start, but I’m happy to carry this one through…because it’s really that good!

What are your family Christmas meal traditions? As I wrote about yesterday, we always do lasagna for Christmas Eve, and now panettone french toast for christmas morning!

8 thoughts on “A Family Favorite

  1. What a wonderful idea to make it in to french toast! My family visited me in Italy shortly before Easter and we got one of the Easter cakes to eat. So fun. I miss Italia!

    Our traditions were chilii at my mom’s mom the night before, and cinnamon rolls Christmas morning. We did both this year! Since Steven and I don’t eat meat, we’ve come up with other meal traditions 🙂

  2. Oh yum…I love panettone…must try this!

    We are Italian so we always do “Feast of the Seven Fishes” on Christmas Eve (essentially an abundance of seafood) and we usually do homemade sauce, meatballs, pasta on Christmas Day but this year we swtiched it up and did Roast Beef and traditional sides on the day of.

  3. I’ve seen this in stores many times when I was in Italy but I have never bought it. Looking at the pics I know I should have, it’s delicious.

    I don’t have real meal traditions for Christmas except maybe a breakfast together on Christmas morning.

Leave a Reply

