First run of 2012

I have a huge confession to make.

Camera Effects(3)

This is the face of a woman who has not run in 22 days.

Ugh…22 days! It doesn’t seem so bad when I go back and actually count out the days. That’s a mere three weeks of no running for this girl.

But it’s not really the fact that I haven’t ran in three weeks that bothers me – but more so the fact that I haven’t even wanted to.

It took me 3.75 miles of brisk walking yesterday to even will up the strength to turn the brisk walk into a slow run.

Like anyone starting back at square one [that’s how I’m feeling about my running these days] I just wanted to take it slow and easy and show myself I still had it in me.

Camera Effects(4)

I feel sort of like I’ve taken two steps back in my running by taking a three week break, but either way I ran A MILE.

Yes…one mile down for the yearly mileage!

I proceeded to run that mile at a pace that felt good for me, not too fast, but fast enough that I knew I could hold the pace without having to take a stop break.

It’s not a huge accomplishment by any means, but more a test of strength, endurance and heart for the sport.

Camera Effects(2)

It’s safe to say that this one mile run got me over whatever mental block I’ve built up over the last few weeks.

Honestly, every single day that went by made it even harder for me to want to lace up my shoes and give it a go.

But to work as hard as I have over the last few years, I knew just not running because I didn’t feel like it was not the way I wanted to go out.

Nope –unless I have some serious injury preventing me from moving my limbs I want to keep running as something that is my special thing.

It just took a few week break and eleven minutes of my time to remember why running is important to me.

***

Remember where ever you are at in your fitness journey don’t give up. There will be times when you really really want to, but you should be thankful for the body you have and what it can do for you.

Happy Running Friends!

13 thoughts on “First run of 2012

  1. You are so right in saying that the longer you go without running, the harder it is to actually get out and do it. That’s like me with weight lifting too. I would let weeks go by without doing anything and now that I started the new rules of lifting for women and have an actual plan to follow, it’s much easier.

  2. I’m sure you’ll jump right back in and be just fine because your motivation is internal. You want to do this for the right reasons… for you. Just think about running back to Boise next time and you’ll rock it :).

  3. I feel the same when I take a break from running. I can feel all the miles I’ve put in the past slip away and like my legs will forget how to even run. But then I get out there and it feels amazing, and my legs didn’t forget 🙂
    You have been do amazing in your fitness, taking all kinds of classes. That’s what counts is keeping active. Sometimes we need a little break from something we love to miss it and want to come back to it. I know you will have an awesome running year. Miss you!

  4. Sometimes a break like that is good – plus you have been working out a ton even without running! Glad you got a run in! I know that you will be back up to double digits in no time!

  5. Aw, I know exactly how you feel. Congrats on taking those first steps and getting that mile in. You will be back at it in no time! You’ve had so much going on lately that it makes sense your body would want a little break.

  6. Woohoo for the first run of the year.

    I did lose my mojo for running in the last 3 months last year, it’s still not completely back but I’m enjoying it more now.

    I do think that we sometimes need a break from running to recharge our running battery.

    I foresee lots of great runs for the rest of this year for you.

  7. I bet sub-consciously, your body/mind knew you needed that break. I think breaks are a good idea. But… don’t stay away for too long, right? Welcome back 🙂

  8. I haven’t run for almost 10 weeks due to injury (stress reaction/fracture). I can’t wait to run again (should be very soon). I have enjoyed the swimming class that I’ve been taking since post-Thanksgiving, but it will be nice to pound the pavement again. Kudos to you for overcoming that mental block and getting out there on the roads again!

Leave a Reply

