Jackass January

Please don’t laugh [too hard] at my Jackass calendar, it was seriously this or the Civil War calendar at the Post Exchange.

006

I am happy with my choice, and no doubt it gives me a little chuckle every time I look at it and write down my completed workouts.

Socially: This month took a turn toward awesome in the social department. I met a few new Army wives and convinced them to join in some of the yoga and zumba classes at the gym. Yay for new Georgia friends!

Emotionally: Since I was able to see my family at Christmas, the homesickness has subsided quite a bit. And I’m generally feeling like my old self again. I’ve been signing up for free classes (like a resume class), and just trying to get the most out of GA while were here.

Physically: My activity level has not been as intense as other months, but I’ve been making a conscious effort to hit up fitness classes and stay active. Though running has not been the highest priority this month, I’ve still been getting some mileage by walking.

***

My January:

Camera Effects(1)

Total Running Mileage: 7 whopping miles!

As you can obviously tell, I took a little running break this past month, but nothing to worry about. I’ve still got the running bug.

Total Walking Mileage: 13 miles [yep, I did more walking than running – ooops!]

Total fitness classes attended at Gym: 18 <— CRAZY?!

  •  Spin Classes: 3
  • Zumba Classes: 6
  • Yoga Classes: 7
  • Aqua Zumba: 2
  • CrossFit: 2
  • X-Box Fitness: 1 hour Biggest Loser Game, 1 hour Just Dance

New Class of the month: Aqua Zumba!

Camera Effects(7)

Army Activity of the Month: “Take Your Wife To Work Day”

043

Best Run: My first run of the year! Even though it was only 1 mile, it gave me a new inspiration to keep on running.

Camera Effects(2)Camera Effects(9)

What I’m lovin’ this month [guilty pleasure]: Watching all six season’s of ‘How I Met Your Mother’. This show cracks me up!

Book of the month: Catching Fire, book II of The Hunger Games. I’ve started book III, and will be counting down until the movie comes out!

Spin, Yoga, Zumba Across America: I’ve completed 18 classes [1080 miles] which brings to me to about Lincoln, Nebraska on the map. So I’m about half-way “home”!

Camera Effects(3)

Fun Night Out: Hockey night with friends!

023 

January Random: In my 11 Randoms post I mentioned how I didn’t learn to french braid until last summer? Well I’ve been working hard this month on perfecting that skill.

20120127191802IMG_20120127_191740

What I’m looking forward to: Running this silly Valentine’s day 5k race with my Valentine! ♥

Valentine's 5k No Background (189x200)

Current Goal: To pick a half marathon to run in this spring. I will be more motivated to run if I’m training for something.

***

January started off a bit slow for me, but by the halfway mark my motivation had skyrocketed!

In looking back at all the fitness classes I attended in Jan, I’m quite pleased with myself. I’m hoping to switch things up a bit in Feb by adding back in more strength training. It’s obvious I love me some cardio, but I’m not seeing any change in my body with that.

I know February is a short month, but I’m going to make the most of it!

Happy February!!

11 thoughts on “Jackass January

  1. I don’t believe you about the just learning the French braid! Your braiding skills are too good! Maybe there is still hope for me. Looks like you had a great month!*

  2. I think you had an awesome month with everything, including your workouts.

    I love your calendar, it would make me smile everytime I saw it too.

    I loved the Hunger Games and want to see the movie too.

  3. looks like you had an awesome January. good luck in february! i just signed up for the push up challenge. its gonna a hard month!

  4. I think January was a great month for you!! I love your braid. Your hair is beautiful!!

    I am happy you met some new army friends. 🙂

  5. With such transitions going on in your life, I think you did really great in January – now that you are more comfortable and once you find a race, I am sure that running mileage will kick up! 😀

  6. I love that calendar! You should totally have a giveaway if you are able to purchase extra copies!

    I used to have long hair when I was a kid, and my mom would French braid it quite frequently. Thanks for bringing back good memories with this post!

Leave a Reply

