Running the Riverwalk

In between all this rainy weather we’ve been having here in the South have been a few perfect running weather days. Those of which I have not let slip by so easily this month.

That’s right my friends, running has been making more of an appearance in my workouts these days. 🙂

123

My last memorable run was done on the Riverwalk. It’s a running path that stretches roughly 8 miles long and connects Fort Benning to Uptown Columbus.

I’ve mentioned running on the Riverwalk path before, but typically I start from the Army base running toward Uptown. The run I most recently did actually started in Uptown and went on the same path toward the base.

115

I’m pretty in awe of how cute the Riverwalk area is in Uptown. It has so much character.

And honestly every single time I’m in Uptown Columbus on the Riverwalk, I’ve cursed myself for not having run on it yet.

120

So you can guess I was excited when a friend of mine took me up on my offer to run together – and from Uptown of all places.

121

There is something so new and exciting about running a familiar path but starting the run at a different end. And there was something so completely awesome about having someone to run it with.

It should be no secret to you all that my lack of running motivation has been in part due to the fact that I have not been able to find people to run with.

I’m putting the feelers out to some smaller running groups in town and will likely join one soon! But was honestly overjoyed to just have a fellow Army Wife by my side to chit chat with as we ran through this beautiful path.

116

Our lovely Riverwarlk run ended up rounding out at about 3 miles. As you can see probably see in the photo, the humidity started to catch up to us and it was getting h-o-t!

It just felt good to get out there and run. And even though my runs have been short and sweet, they are runs!

124

I’m planning on running my longest run of the year this weekend [8.08 miles], so every little run leading up to it will count indeed.

***

Will you Shaking Your Shamrock with us this weekend?

There is still time to sign up for the Shake Your Shamrock Virtual race. All the juicy details are in this post. Hope you will join in the fun!

13 thoughts on “Running the Riverwalk

  1. Hey lady, looks like you’ve been making the most of the south. Sorry I’ve been a little incommunicado lately… the session and school and our computer issues have been dominating my time. Hopefully all of those things will either be over or under control soon. Anyway, I miss you tons and just wanted you to know I’ve been thinking of you lots. Love ya!

  2. So jealous that is near where you live! plus it looks like its so sunny there and beautiful! We still have cooler temps here, although not too cold, its not warm warm yet!

Leave a Reply

