Shake Your Shamrock Virtual Race Recap

When I originally signed up for the Shake Your Shamrock race I had great intentions of running the 13k (8.08 miles). Since getting the news of starting my new job last week, my running schedule had to be amended just a wee bit.

linzibib

It was definitely more doable for me to run my 13k in two takes. So that’s just what I did.

I ran part 1 on Friday morning before heading to work.

shamrockraceroute1

Before even starting this race, I offered to run a fellow army wife to the airport. So I was up and at ‘em at 6:00 a.m in the morning. I ate a bit of breakfast, laced up my shoes and decked out in my green headed out to the track in front of my house by 7:30 a.m.

008

Mile 1 flew right on by as I was in a great running groove. I was happy that there was a slight breeze in the air, and the humidity wasn’t too bad just yet.

By mile 2, I had a clothing malfunction…stupid shoelace came un-tied. I quickly double knotted my laces and continued on.

As I was closing in on mile three, I heard my name being yelled. I turned around to see another one of my neighbors flagging me down. I stopped my watch for a few minutes to chat and was back to running in no time.

006

I finished 4.5 miles in 46:30. It was a great way to start my workday, even if it wasn’t my most stellar run to date.

***

Part II of The Shake Your Shamrock run continued on Sunday afternoon. I wanted to “shake” things up a bit, so without much thought threw on my vibrams for this run.

vibrams

Yeah, the pink doesn’t really shout St. Patty’s day but I went with it.

Starting this run at 5:30 p.m. made a huge difference in my running. It was super hot and humid and I quickly realized that this run would be a bit of a challenge.

I kept to the same race route as I did for the first run.  shamrockraceroute2

There were not as many interruptions for this one, but I could feel blisters forming after mile 1 due to my vibrams. Eek.

I knew I only had 2.58 miles to go, so I ran through the discomfort – which I know was kind of a bad idea.

018

Check out the new addition to Sunday’s race outfit –a green sweaty band! [My first running related purchase since starting my new job at the running store!].

I finished the 3.58 miles in 39 minutes. And boy was I glad to be done!

***

Virtual races can seem kind of silly, but for me it’s a great motivator to get myself out there running. So for me to break up my race into two races, made it even more of a fun challenge for me.

I shook my shamrock twice, and was so glad I did. Even though both runs were less than stellar, it got me out there. And for me that is a great improvement.

***

Shake Your Shamrock Showcase: Be sure to check back tomorrow to see how the other Shamrock shakers did on their races.

Happy Monday!

6 thoughts on “Shake Your Shamrock Virtual Race Recap

  1. As you know, it was great motivation for me to get out there on a day that I was NOT feeling it. Way to get yours done! Two runs is better than one. 🙂

    Love the outfit!!!

  2. hey, great job! its always a good idea to split up the runs if you cant do them all at once. and that is exactly waht you did. andeven tho the runs were not fabulous, you still are fabulous and did a wonderful job! i will be posting my race recap soon.
    and i am just emailing you about the rest of the posts!

  3. I don’t think virtual races are silly. I like the thought that somewhere in the world someone else is running that day too.

    I think you did great and I admire you for running in the heat and humidity. Something I still can’t handle and avoid too.

  4. Pingback: Shamrock Shakers Showcase | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

