SMA Eat ‘N Run 5k

I haven’t talked too much about my new job at the running store yet, which will be coming sometime soon…but one of the newest “perks” of my job is running in races for f-r-e-e.

Our company sponsors a lot of local races, and from time to time in return gets a few comped race entry’s.

20120324075817

This past Saturday [not even two weeks a veteran at the new job] and I was already representing my peeps out on the race course. Woop woop!

We ran in the SMA Eat ‘N Run 5k, a fundraiser for children with Spinal Muscular Atrophy. Camera Effects(26)

The race started a little after 8:00 am and I was pleasantly surprised with the weather. There was a slight breeze in the air, and overcast above –my favorite type of running weather.

The humidity didn’t hit until about half way through the race. It always sneaks up on me!

The first mile of the race started on an extreme downhill which got me excited for my speedy start. But I quickly realized what goes down in a race, usually comes back up.

Camera Effects(25)

By the end of the first mile, I was huffing and puffing back up that hill and cursing myself for starting too quickly at the start.

The course circled through Columbus State University Campus and through some cute neighborhoods around the local high school.

Around mile two I was having some serious pains in my Achilles. I haven’t quite mastered the whole being on my feet for 40 hrs a week and running yet. (As you remember I was unemployed for 5 months, and the three years before that I had a desk job).

There were a few walk breaks, and then a final sprint toward the finish line.

Camera Effects(27)

I finished in 33:03, which is one of my slower 5k times but I’m still okay with. It was a cute local race for a great cause!

The after party was totally my style. I mean it’s called Eat ‘N Run for a reason right?

Camera Effects(24)

Camera Effects(23)IMG_20120324_073206

I was all over that Chick fil a breakfast sandwich as some post race fuel. And then I did just as the race said – ate ‘n ran.

It was off to the running store post race for a full day of work. Though I must admit it was such a fun way to start my workday by racing for a great cause.

Happy Running Friends!!

***

Shamrock Shaker Winners Announced:  Jess from Run with Jess won our spirit prize, and the random number generator picked Natalie from The Funner Runner as our other Shamrock winner.

Thanks again for everyone who participated!!

7 thoughts on “SMA Eat ‘N Run 5k

  1. That is so cool that you get to do races for FREE!!! I have a close friend whose son has SMA so the cause means a lot to me 🙂

    Hope your Achilles is okay today!

  2. Cool that you can enter races for free and run them with your co-workers. I think this is the perfect job for you.

    And your time is a great one to me, well done Linzi.

  3. Pingback: Marvelous March | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

