Sexy Yoga & Dance

I’m not scared to try a new fitness class, but I will admit that when I saw the new Sexy Yoga & Dance class added to the Army Gym’s schedule I wasn’t exactly sure what to think.

I think I was more curious than anything what exactly this class was all about. And you know me…I can’t just wonder I need to know!

So with one brave army wife friend in tow we headed to Sexy Yoga & Dance yesterday to see first hand what it was all about.

Yogaschedule

The class is a women’s only class that is taught in very dimly lit room. The ambience was very inviting [lots of white Christmas lights and candle light] when we walked in.

The teacher had us arrange our mats in a circle as she sat in the middle and instructed us.

The first half of the class was done on the yoga mat. Basically regular yoga moves were spiced up a bit with a few erotic moves and encouragement to feel our bodies.

012

The teacher wanted us to feel comfortable with our own bodies and in the space of the room, and pretty much anything goes mentality.

The yoga moves we did were sensual, but actually felt good. Imagine doing Cat/Cow but adding in hip rotations.

Once the yoga segment was over we ditched the mats and headed straight for the mirror. We began by shaking our hips and doing some sexy hip hop dance moves to get warmed up.

009

At some point during the dance segment it began to feel like we were at a pole dancing lesson (minus the pole). She had us grinding against a wall and being sexy to the music.

It was interesting to say the least, but not necessarily my cup of tea. I appreciated the yoga segment as it felt good to shake things up a bit, but my sexy dance confidence just wasn’t ready for what she was throwing at us yesterday.

I am glad I went and checked it out first hand, and now I know what it’s all about. It was fun to try something new, but I’m not so sure that I will be adding this class to my normal rotation.

***

Happy Thursday!! And thank you for all your kind words on my last post about moving to Texas. It’s going to be an adventure!

9 thoughts on “Sexy Yoga & Dance

  1. Never heard of this before and to be honest I don’t think I would try it out. But lucky for me I’ve got you who’s never afraid to try something new and share it with us.

  2. How cool that you tried this! I bet I would have the same conclusion as you. I am a bit ridiculous… in that I have no “sexy” in me. And don’t know if my “sexy” equates to a workout!

  3. At least it wasn’t as hard as pole dancing. That’s the sorest I’ve ever been… so fun though. I love how you’re always willing to try new things. On another note, I was at your old office for a meeting yesterday and it made me think of you. They’re lost there without you :).

  4. You’re such a go getter! I would have never had the guts to go to a class like that! I’m really shy as it is. Add in me attempting to be sexy and things get really embarassing. Good for you for pushing your comfort zone!*

  5. Sounds like a fun class, but I don’t think it’s my cup of tea. Kudos to you for trying it out! I like reading about all the fun fitness classes you try out. 🙂

  6. Pingback: A Busy April | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a comment