Bittersweet Boot Camp

There was a part of me that was super excited this morning knowing I was finishing up another month of grueling [yet awesome] 5:30 a.m workouts.

sadpanda

But a part of me is also sad that it’s over and I won’t be able to join next months class because of our move [more on that in a different post].

These last two months have made me sweat, cry and push myself to new levels with my body. Ultimately I was doing this boot camp to see changes in my body, but what I am finding is more changes in how I see myself.

thruster

I know I’ve said this before, but I really am stronger than I think. I may have run 2 marathons, but the idea of doing burpees, and box jumps and lifting really intimidated me.

I honestly think after two months of these CrossFit style workouts, I could confidently walk into a real CrossFit gym and join a class with no worry.

bootcamp

And maybe I didn’t mention how much freaking fun it has been! These people are a blast and everyone is so encouraging.

crossfitcollage

I have worked my little tail off for two months and am ultimately happy with how I feel. I feel stronger, and as mentioned before like my endurance is better and my running has gotten faster.

20120725-172524

I’ve never been much of a numbers person on the blog, but I thought I would share the end result with you all after two months. I’m actually a little shocked that last months number and my overall aren’t a little more dramatic.

Some things have been going on in my personal life as well that may have contributed a bit, but either way I’m looking at the positives.

May 29th June 25th July 26 Difference
r. arm 12.5 12 12 – .5
l. arm 12.25 12 12 -.25
chest 32.5 32.75 33.25 +.75
waist 38 33.50 33.50 -4.50
hips 41 40 40 -1
r. leg 26 24 24 -2
l. leg 25.5 24 23.5 -2
Weight 157.2 153.80 154.2 -3
BF 36.2 36.2 35.1 -1.1

It’s not the exact end results that I wanted to see, but I’m making progress. I’m using this as a starting point and motivator to keep on my fitness journey to be the healthiest version of me.

linzinstagram

My final thoughts are these…I’m so happy that I did CrossFit Boot camp and hope to incorporate more of these intense workouts in with a more regular running routine.

Thanks for all your continued support through my fitness journey and I hope y’all have a great weekend! 🙂

15 thoughts on “Bittersweet Boot Camp

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! I totally know what you mean about getting better as a whole. I was so intimidated by all the strength moves in CrossFit when I started 2 months ago, but now I love them! I have seen some major changes in my body and mind. A huge difference for me was in eliminating grains (I have a thyroid issue that is sometimes related to gluten sensitivity). I’m so glad you enjoyed it and I look forward to reading more about your adventures with CrossFit!

  2. looking good! this is awesome! congrats on the weight and inches lost! u can see a difference.

    keep up the great work!

  3. I love hearing how CrossFit makes you feel. I am smiling just reading this. It is a bummer you have to leave your group, but I bet you will love your next group too! 🙂

  4. You are awesome and you look amazing. You inspire me all the time!! I’m so glad we got to catch up the other night. I can’t wait till August 24th!!!!

  5. You are so inspiring! Now, more than ever, I am interested in Crossfit. You killed it! I love your dedication. I hope it rubs off on me. Way to go, Girl!*

  6. Getting up early day after day and work that hard has definitely paid off.

    Congrats Linzi, I’m very impressed and proud of you that you did this.

  7. Sounds like it was definitely a worthwhile experience overall! You definitely got a ton of fitness out of it, and I think you should totally check out a Cross Fit facility at your new city.

  8. So happy for you Linzi. Yay for crossfit. Best of luck on your move and cannot wait to hear about Texas. Have a safe trip. 🙂

  9. Awesome job on Boot camp. I know it can be discouraging not to see the difference in the numbers, but if you feel better about yourself and feel good I think that is what matters. Plus even though you may not have lost lots of inches I am sure you are healthier and more in shape!

  10. Pingback: Jammin’ July | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

