Running with Dean Karnazes

I was beyond excited when I found out that Dean Karnazes “The UltraMarathon Man”  was coming to small town Columbus, Georgia to run with our running community last Friday night.

IMG_0542

I will honestly say that I have never read any of his books, but I knew of his amazing accomplishment of running 50 marathons, in 50 states in 50 days.

I think that takes an amazing amount of talent, determination, and willpower to accomplish a feat like that.

He came to our running store to kick off The North Face Endurance Challenge that will be happening October 13-14, 2012 in Pine Mountain, GA.

IMG_0625

It was pretty inspiring to hear him speak about his adventures in running such races as the Bad Water Ultramarathon. You know just a little 135 mile race through Death Valley, no big deal!

Well it was actually really cool for me to watch our store owner introduce the Ultramarathoner as he is also a big Ultra runner himself. And has also competed in the Bad Water Ultra.

dean

Being around such inspiring running talent was such an amazing feeling. I was seriously jonesing for our ‘Run with Dean’ to start!

Dean gave a few more words of wisdom, and then we were off on our run. They arranged the route so that there could be a 5k turn off, or you could push on through the whole 10k.

IMG_0515

Once the run started, I was full of energy and adrenaline. The cool thing about this run was that it was simply that, a run. Not a race. So I didn’t really feel pressure to run super faster or worry if I needed to stop and rest.

Though according to my mile splits, I was running WAY faster than my normal easy run pace.

IMG_0510

Around mile two, I was trucking along minding my own business and I heard a group of people coming up behind me. I moved to the right of the path and looked over my left shoulder.

There was Dean Karnazes with a pack of 10 or so people running next to me. Dean looked over at me and said “hello!” and then continued to truck on forward with his pack.

I jumped into the back of the pack for a good quarter mile or so, before I started to lose steam.

I had literally just ran with the UltraMarathon Man himself. So cool!

IMG_0511

I started out thinking I was going to do the 10k, but my legs started to feel like I was dragging tree trunks around mile 3. So when the 5k turnoff was visible I ran back to the store to further help with the event. I mean I was still working!

My final mile splits: 3.5 miles/36:00

  • Mile 1: 9:19
  • Mile 2: 9:38
  • Mile 3: 10:42
  • Mile .5: 6:30

As you can see, there were two miles under 10 minutes! And that first mile, are you kidding me?! I don’t run 9:00 minute miles people. So awesome!!

Back at the store…

IMG_0622

We had pizza ready for all the runners, as they waited to get autographs and pictures with Dean.

IMG_0626

It was really a fun event, and a fabulous send off. If you remember, I mentioned that Friday was also my last day at the running store.

The whole event was a blast! All the people who attended the event were so genuinely excited about the opportunity to meet Dean Karnazes, and were super pumped about the upcoming North Face Endurance Challenge.

I’m so glad that I was able to be a part of this experience, as it was such an awesome way to end my time at the running store!

13 thoughts on “Running with Dean Karnazes

  1. I’m so glad that you had such a fun event to finish your work at the running store. I can’t believe how soon you’ll be here and I want a full report on the move to Texas. I heart you!

  2. Wow! So cool! I have come in contact with exactly zero running greats. (Unless you count my usual running buddies; I think they are pretty great.) Did Dean seem nice? I have heard that he has a reputation for being cocky or full of himself.

    Definitely a cherry on top of your time working there!*

  3. So awesome! He came to Shu’s a few months ago but I didn’t attend. I did read his book Ultra Marathon Man and I loved it! I would highly recommend it. I want to read his other books.

    Way to rock the 9 min miles!! You are totally increases your pace with all the cross fit you do!

  4. Aww! That is an awesome way to end your run (snort) at the running store 🙂 I really want to read his books! Or maybe I can just be lazy and watch the movie? LOL

  5. That is so freakin cool! I listened to one of his books on my commute a few years back- what an inspiration! So fun and look at you rocking the nine minute miles!

  6. Pingback: Awesomesauce August | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

