A Driving Marathon

4 days, roughly 1613 miles, 2 time zones, 1 cracked windshield, and 1 flat tire later…we finally made it to El Paso, Texas. Yee haw!

welcometexas

It’s crazy to believe the activities we crammed in over our four day drive to El Paso. I was determined to make our move across the country a mini-vacation [which is probably why it took so long].

Stop 1: Panama City Beach, Florida

PanamaCity2012

Where we stayed: Wyndham Bay Point Resort

We loved the cute little private beach, lots of fru-fru drinks on the menu, and the cute little boardwalk to a floating restaurant in the middle of the bay.

Don’t let all the beachy photos fool you, it rained almost the entire time we were there. The sun came out right as we were checking out so we snuck in a quick walk on the beach.

Stop 2: New Orleans, Louisiana

NOLAcollage

Where we stayed: Hyatt Regency New Orleans

We loved that our swanky hotel had a to-die-for restaurant within called Borgne, and that is sat only a few blocks away from the French Quarter.

And although we didn’t have much time to play tourist here we did manage to hit up the infamous Cafe du Monde for breakfast. We’ll have to come back for a more wild adventure next time.

Stop 3: San Antonio, Texas

SanAntonio

Where we stayed: Eva’s Escape Gardenia Inn Bed & Breakfast

Oh my goodness…as soon as we drove into SA I wished we could stay forever. This place had such a fun vibe! We scored on a sweet deal on a precious B&B which sat only about a mile from the Riverwalk.

We hit up an amazing restaurant called FEAST which was fresh and hip. Afterwards we went to a dueling piano bar, Howl at the Moon to visit an old friend who happens to be one of the entertainers there.

I could go on and on about San Antonio. I am so happy that it’s only a 9 hour drive away, because I must go back. I didn’t take nearly enough photos to capture our awesome stay there.

Final Stop: El Paso, Texas

We arrived into town late last night and are just trying to get our bearings around here. We are going to be busy the next few days looking for a place to live…wish us luck!

In the meantime, I’ve already scoped out a sweet CrossFit gym. Ha ha…priorities right?

***

Happy Monday friends! Stay tuned this week for more ramblings of a homeless running crossfitter.  🙂

16 thoughts on “A Driving Marathon

  1. Linzi, congrats on the drive. you are home! finally, right???
    im glad you guys made a fun little trip out of the drive. good luck with everything and cant wait to see how this part of your life goes!
    *hugs*

  2. Looks like it was a really fun drive. All of your stops are places I would love to visit, especially New Orleans and San Antonio! Can’t wait to hear more about it when I see you soon!!!!!!!!!!

  3. I’m so glad to hear you made it to EP! We will have to meet in San Antonio one day 🙂
    Good luck on the house hunting! Keep in touch 🙂

  4. Yay! I’m so glad you made it to El Paso safe and sound. No argument here, San Antonio is awesome! I hope y’all spent some time on the river walk, that’s what it’s all about. I send you good vibes in your search for somewhere to live!.*

  5. Great idea to make your trip to Texas a mini vacation. Lovely places you stayed at.

    I’m glad you had a safe trip and I will keep my fingers crossed you will find a place for the two of you soon.

  6. Glad you made it!! I love love love cafe dumode. and the river walk in SA. So glad you found a CrossFit!! Can’t wait to hear what you think about it.

  7. I am super impressed with your trip- that must have taken a lot of planning! I’ve heard really great things about San Antonio. I want to make it to New Orleans at some point 🙂 Hooray for finding a crossfit! Love it 🙂

  8. What a fun way to pack a mini-vacation into your move! I would definitely want to visit all those places, although I have been to San Antonio before (it is a fun city). Were you able to get your windshield repaired yet? Yikes!

  9. OH! You’re already there! I love that you made the drive so much fun, visiting some awesome cities along the way. Have fun settling into your new home, and good luck finding a place!

  10. Ha! I am not surprised you made it to a gym already 😉

    I love that you did this! I want to visit all of those places! I have never been to TX but my NYC BFF is moving to Dallas this Jan 🙂

  11. Pingback: Adventures in New Mexico | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

