What I Love About The South

A few weeks ago my blog friend Katie over at Legally Fit wrote a lovely post about what she loves about the South. It got me thinking about what I have loved (and thought I would love) about my experience living in the south.

Having grown up in the Northwest (Idaho) I really didn’t know what to expect when we first moved to Georgia. I was hoping that peaches would be abundant, and that I wouldn’t die from the humidity. That’s really all I knew about southern living.. that and whatever they show in the movies.

There were a few things that I have come to love and will honestly miss….

  • Historic Architecture

242 Camera Effects(5)

We have been over the moon about our little home on the army base. They call these buildings “the white elephants”, and were supposedly built in the 1930’s. I love the historic aesthetic the buildings in the south bring.

  • Everything is so green

Every day I would drive the 10 miles to work and just take in all the lush greenery around me. It rains a lot here, which in return makes everything so green.

  • Hush puppies

hushpuppies

Enough said! We’ve had our fair share of not so delish deep fried southern food, but we did manage to find a place that serves it up right. Ezell’s Catfish Cabin in Columbus, GA.  Collard greens, coleslaw, and hush puppies to die for!

  • Warm Winters

228

Yeah, I may complain about the humidity but this photo was taken on February 12th, and I remember feeling really hot in my cardigan. So at least I can appreciate the warm winter that comes with the scorching summer.

  •  Southern Hospitality

182

No matter where we were or what were doing the people down here were more than welcoming, and just nice! There really is something to be said about good southern hospitality.

    • Y’all

Source: indulgy.com via Linzi on Pinterest

I was seriously hoping that I would at least pick up a natural usage of the word y’all while I was down here. I love it when people say the word, but still haven’t quite figured out how to use it without sounding like a “yankee”. Which I’ve been called a time or two down here.

  • Publix

I know it sounds dumb to like a grocery store, but every time I went in one I was just so happy to be there. Maybe it reminded me of our Albertson’s back in Idaho, or maybe it was just that much nicer than the commissary. Either way, Publix you will be missed!

  • Peaches

006

Yeah, they’re pretty amazing! Even though we almost missed Peach season. Apparently it runs from Mid May – Early Aug. I lived here for 7 months before I could even try a real Georgia peach!

***

A few things I really thought I’d love about living in the south that I know I won’t really miss.

  • Sweet Tea – I know, I know I really tried to like it but it just didn’t do it for me! Too sweet for this western girl.
  • Fried Pickles – Y’all know I tried, but again after a handful of attempts at fried pickles it just wasn’t for me
  • Living in College Football Country – It’s either Auburn Tiger town or Georgia Bull Dog country around these parts.

They don’t take well to Boise State Bronco’s, let me tell ya!

038

And a few things I will not miss. Like at all. EVER!

  • Cockroaches – Barf! Need I say more?
  • Humidity – I didn’t say heat, I know it’s h-o-t in Texas, but I’ll take my heat dry any day friends. Any day!
  • Tornados – I’m not even sure how we made it through Tornado Watch 2012 without a panic attack. We don’t have tornados back home, so this was definitely an experience! (after typing this I realize that there are probably still a chance for tornados in Texas, but either way I wouldn’t miss them if I never had to experience it again, just sayin’).

So there you have it y’all! <— See, what I mean? Awkward just awkward!  A few of my favs and not so favs of living in the South.

**What’s something you love about where you live?

What I’m currently loving about El Paso is the abundance of Mexican food. Good Mexican food. There was a serious lacking in Georgia.

12 thoughts on “What I Love About The South

  1. I love this list! As someone born and raised in the south–in Auburn no less– (albeit with “yankee” parents who hail from NY), I always wonder what people think about the region. War Eagle! 😉

  2. i dont think i can say ALL Y’All. My canadian tongue does not twist that way! lol

    love this post! have fun in your new home!

  3. I have lived in Pennsylvania my whole life except for three semesters at the University of Georgia. I wholeheartedly agree with your assessment, especially Publix (bread and pies – ha!) And yeah, GA folks are RAISED to attend a big state school. Crazy stuff! I mean, we’ve got Penn State but I don’t think it’s SO serious that you just assume your kid will go there (like how I see kids are raised with the assumption they’ll attend UGA, GA Tech, or some other big state school).

  4. Oh my gosh I agree with so much of your list. I cannot believe how big college football is down here (Clemson or USC)- where is all of the NFL love?! I absolutely hate roaches ick ick ick and can’t wait to be out of a climate that supports them, lol. I do love me some sweet tea though! The humidity is terrible! I’m starting to really dig Publix too, although nothing compares to Wegmans! So glad you are enjoying El Paso and some awesome Mexican food 🙂

  5. I think you totally pull off the “y’all.” I don’t think you’ll have to worry about tornadoes in El Paso. We get a few close calls in Dallas every year, though. In fact, we had a delayed release from school one day this spring bc there was a tornado in the area. Nothing happened at my school, but I knew some people in nearby districts who had to be on tornado lockdown for hours.*

  6. My brother lived in Savannah for four years and Athens, GA for two years and he NEVER picked up a Southern accent. He’s now been in Boston for 10 years… still no accent!

    I like your Southern list (and I totally agree with the hospitality and architecture). I also like the “Quick Guide to Southern Grammar” — hilarious!

    As a Minnesotan, I love the variety of landscapes we have here in the state… flat prairie fields, woods as far as the eye can see, rolling hills, beautiful lakes and rivers. I especially love spending time on Minnesota’s North Shore. People here are “Minnesota Nice” and there’s a great running community, especially in the Twin Cities metro area. Fishing is fun, too! I dislike the long winters (the first snowfall is always lovely, but that’s also when Minnesotan relearn how to drive in the winter), mosquitoes in the summertime, and never-ending road construction.

  7. I love this list. It makes me want to visit the south, which I haven’t been to as an adult. I think I would really like the architecture, and have heard great things about Svannah.

    I love the trails where I live. But it’s not really a characteristic of the midwest at all! LOL

  8. I love visiting the south, but after living in NC for a few years I was happy to return to NY to live. I live near a river valley, and just love the trees, the mountains, and the views of the river. I am keeping the “y’all” though:)

Leave a Reply

