Our New Home

I just wanted you all to know how much we appreciated your well wishes last week on finding a home. I’m happy to say we are no longer living out of an extended stay hotel!

Once we arrived here in El Paso last week, we immediately felt at home. I’m guessing it had something to do with the dryer air, the addition of Jack in Boxes/the absence of Waffle Houses everywhere, and the sight of these beautiful mountains!

mountains

Once we did our little happy dance over the fact that we weren’t living in humidity, we immediately hit the road to hunt for houses.

Due to a long waiting list for homes on Fort Bliss and the lack of decent rentals here we opted to check out the homes for sale instead.

Yup, we went house shopping!

After two days of looking at newly built homes and re-sell homes we finally agreed on one that will be perfect for us. We put in the contract and now we wait until everything closes!

housewedidnotbuy

This is not the house we picked, but definitely one of my favs.

We are buying our first home! I can’t even believe it.

bathroom

Here is a sneak peak at the master bathroom in our new house. One of the only pictures I managed to snap during our epic house hunting adventure.

As we sit and wait for at least 45 days until closing, we found ourselves a cute little furnished apartment that offers a short term lease.

apt

We are literally camping in our own temporary home now. We have whatever items we managed to fit in our cars (just the basics: bed sheets, pillows, one pan, two spatulas, 2 mugs, a coffee pot, three towels)  as the rest of our stuff stays in storage until we move into our real house.

Again, I’m a happy camper as I have everything I need. A nice comfy couch to sit on, internet access and my husband close by. 🙂

***

I have quite the week of exciting things happening over here. Check back tomorrow for a sweet giveaway you won’t want to miss!

15 thoughts on “Our New Home

  1. So sad we didn’t get together before you left Ga but super happy to see that you guys are doing so well and your spirits are high! Everything looks lovely so far. Cannot wait to see your new home! Congrats.

  2. So glad you two made it! I haven’t commented in forever but am definitely still reading and keep tabs. I’ve never been to Texas aside from the airport and really, really want to go.

    Andy and I bought our first home in April and it’s such an exciting ride, congrats!

  3. Oh goodness, I love love love love Texas homes. I look at Texas Real Estate alllll the time. Looks like the apartment is cute for the transition time, but not having all my stuff (especially my kitchen stuff) would drive me bonkers! lol

  4. I can’t wait to see photos of your new home! Speaking from experience, house-hunting can be stressful, and waiting to close is hard. We got a condo that was a short sale, and we closed on it rather quickly compared to the usual lengthy process for short sales. Hopefully it will be a very quick process for you!

  5. Woah! Congrats! That’s exciting! And I’m uber jealous that you have internet. I have to go to the USO to get online. Apparently it takes forever here to get internet in your home. Boo!*

  6. Congrats on your first home! The master bath looks gorgeous!!
    Now there’s a guest room for me to come visit so we can virtually train for a race then run it together?? I’m thinking something next year?? 🙂

  7. GORGEOUS!! I love the double sinks in the bathroom! We have only one right now, but we have room for two so this winter I hope Brian gets around to ripping our the bathroom and redoing it!

Leave a Reply

