What I’m Loving Wednesday: Shoe Edition

Today I wanted to share with you something that I’m loving! And since this is still technically a running blog [mixed with a lot of life stuff too] I thought I would share my newest love and obsession.

The Saucony Kinvara 3’s!

kinvara

I first have to give a huge shout out to my former fellow work friends over at Big Dog Running Company. They surprised me with this pair of Kinvara 3’s as a going away present on my last day.

I’d accumulated a handful of new running shoes since I started working there, but wasn’t finding anything that I loved. So buying another pair of running shoes before I left wasn’t quite a priority, even though I felt I needed them.

So needless to say I was ecstatic when I was gifted these babies as I’d had been eyeing them for weeks.

kinvara3

What I truly love about them is that they are super light, but still give me a bit of cushion on the bottom of the shoe.

They fall into a category of what we at the running store liked to call a “transitional minimalist” shoe. It’s a great way to transition from a regular running shoe [10-12mm heel drop shoe] to something like the Vibram FiveFingers.

The Kinvara is not as barefoot feeling as something like the Vibram FiveFingers, as it sits around a 4mm heel drop compared to the Zero heel drop of the Vibrams. Though compared to some other 4mm heel drop shoes on the market, its comfort and cushion makes it feel more like a regular running shoe. Making the transition a little easier.

Why I even bring this up is that I’ve been trying to make the switch into a more minimalist shoe for longer distance running. My beloved Asics were feeling super heavy, like I was dragging every time I went for a run. Having a lighter shoe gave me a little more pep in my step.

I’ve also been working on changing up my stride too [more of a mid-foot strike instead of a heel strike].  And I have personally found it’s easier to accomplish a mid-foot strike with a more minimalist type of shoe.

kinvara2

Y’all know that I’ve dabbled into running in FiveFingers, but haven’t felt like I could accomplish more than 3-4 miles comfortably in them. So I’m hoping that the little extra cushion and lightness of the Kinvara’s will be the perfect combo I’m looking for.

So far the Kinvara 3’s have been amazing! And even though they are a neutral shoe and I have a slight over-pronation, I’m finding that I just feel better in a neutral shoe.  You gotta go with what works!

What are your thoughts/experiences on going more minimalist in your running shoes?

***

Don’t forget you have until Tuesday, August 28th at noon (mst) to enter my North Face Endurance Challenge Entry Giveaway. If you know someone who might be interested in this opportunity please encourage them to enter. This race sounds like it will be epic!

7 thoughts on “What I’m Loving Wednesday: Shoe Edition

  1. I love Kinvara’s! I have the Kinvara’s 2 right now and really want to try out the 3’s. I have used them for all my half and full marathons and they are the perfect amount of cushion yet light enough to not weigh you down. I know you will love them for long distances!!

  2. I recently did the same thing, switched from a stability shoe to a neutral shoe the Adidas Adizero Boston 2. So far I’m liking them as well. Like you, still some cushioning but not as much as the stability shoe.

    • The Adidas are super light too! I was trying to like the structure but my over pronation is so minimal that the neutral just felt more natural. Interested to hear how the change back works for you.

  3. Those shoes are so pretty! Of course, I am partial to the color blue. 🙂

    I was shocked to find out this summer that I should have been wearing neutral shoes instead of stability shoes for the past few years. I now am sporting the Saucony Ride 5 and love them. Someday I might try the Kinvara.

Leave a Reply

