Homeowners!

Finally!

l

76 long days after putting in an offer on this brand new home, we can officially call ourselves homeowners! And we couldn’t be more relieved to be done with the home buying process.

Anything and everything that could go wrong during the buying  process went wrong over the last 2.5 months –and I mean everything! From miscommunications with our realtors, to somewhere along the lines the lenders thinking we were no longer buying the house, to a mix-up with the title company at the last minute, and even a small fire during the home inspection. Luckily we got everything squared away.

So needless to say all that stuff is in the past. We signed papers early Tuesday morning, picked up keys at 5:00 pm Tuesday night, and by 5:25 pm I was being carried over the threshold of my new home by my dear husband. Yup, I made him do it!

keys

The signing papers part was a bit anticlimactic, but when we walked in to the builders office to pick up our keys we were greeted by 15 of the CareFree Homes employees clapping their hands and ringing bells in congratulation of our new home purchase.

They also gave us an amazing gift basket. Keys to our new home, and the biggest basket ever of chocolate was the perfect end to a very drawn out home buying process.

chocolate

I must say though, that the house is awesome and we are beyond excited to move out of our temporary apartment and into our real home.

Since most of our household goods are still in storage until next Friday, we are now camping out in our new house. The only furniture we have is two camp chairs and an air mattress. It’s all part of the adventure right?

backyard

We celebrated the sale of our new home by smoking a cigar that we bought on the day we put the original offer on the house in.

Actually I watched J. Alabama smoke the cigar while I snacked on some chocolate covered almonds from the chocolate basket in celebration.

j

I promise to snap some more photos of the inside of the home once we get internet back up and running in the new house.

Random: I’m sure some people are probably wondering why our backyard is just dirt. Well that’s how they do it in Texas (or at least El Paso) I guess. We are only allowed to water our lawns 2-3 days a week, so most people opt for no grass or go the route of rocks instead. Our front yard came completely landscaped with rocks, a tree and a few shrubs, and the back yard is a clean slate for us to do whatever we want. We have some ideas already but it will be awhile before we get to it.

It’s finally starting to feel like we are getting settled here in El Paso. I’ve been trying to be super upbeat about the whole move, and the home buying thing, but honestly it was starting to wear me down a bit over the last few weeks. I’m just glad to have a real address and to get to putting my new home together (well at least by the end of next week!).

***

Thank you everyone for all your well wishes on getting into the new house. We are ecstatic to finally be home!

19 thoughts on “Homeowners!

  1. Congrats! That is great you are finally in! Crazy how they don’t have grass! Its so funny how we don’t think about that stuff until we visit/move to a new place and see how much different things are!

    • I thought the same thing. I was so wigged out by the no grass thing until I realized that it was more common than not, to not have grass. So I’m just rolling with it, and will save on the water bill I guess!

  2. Yahoo! So glad that it’s finally signed, sealed, delivered! It’s about time!

    The rock yard/lack of grass is definitely an El Paso thing, but not a Texas thing. I was wondering if there was grass just the other day. The farthest west I’ve been in Texas is Lubbock (it’s in the panhandle; that’s where we went to college) and they have grass. At least the lack of grass is low maintenance.*

    • That’s good to know about it being an El Paso thing, unfortunately something that you get to look forward to (or not look forward to)! And yes, no grass = less in the water bill! 🙂

    • 🙂 Thanks! Yes, some people do go the turf route and it’s hilarious! It looks so fake! I joked with my husband that if we got turf we should just go ahead and get it in blue (just like the boise state bronco blue football field turf!). He laughed and said we would be booted out of the neighborhood for sure!

  3. Congratulations! So happy that you’ve finally signed the papers, got the keys, and have moved in. I hope the moving-in-of-your-stuff process goes smoothly.

    On a random side note, I think it’s ironic that the name of your realty company is “Care Free Homes.”

  4. Pingback: Bump-date: Week 15 | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

