Bump-date: Week 18

Baby and I couldn’t feel more loved this week after reading all your heartfelt comments on “The Big D” post.

We know it’s going to be a little bit of an emotional roller coaster, but we are hopeful that everything is going to be just fine. We are blessed to have a huge support network of family and friends who will be helping out and hopefully distracting me from the countdown clock.

18 weeks belly

This baby is growing like crazy! It’s already to the size of a mango measuring in at 6 inches and weighing in at .5 lbs.

Exercise:

This past week included two 10 hour days of driving to and from Denver for the Thanksgiving holiday, so that zapped a lot of my energy. But I still managed to squeeze in two workouts over the past week, so not a complete failure.

  1. 4 mile post turkey day walk (60 mins)
  2. Yoga class (60 mins)

Symptoms/Sleep:

Most of my round ligament pain has subsided, finally! It still comes and goes, but it’s not keeping me up through the night anymore. Now it’s just insomnia and midnight snacks that are keeping me up. LOL!

Maternity clothes:

Silly Cyber Monday sales got me…but we’ll all have to wait until my package arrives to reveal my buys. I’ve not one for buying stuff online, as it never ever fits. But now that I’m preggo, it’s a little easier just to buy the size up as you know you will eventually fit into it!

Pregnancy/Baby Stuff:

My super awesome SIL strikes again! She gave me another load of baby stuff that her twins have outgrown, as well as a portable breast pump.

I also had to snap a photo of this doll I received at the Deployment fair I attended. I can put a picture of J. Alabama in there for the baby, so it’s like having him there through those first few months.

013

Emotionally:

I’ve been holding it together, somehow. I’ve known about the deployment for as long as I’ve known we were going to be stationed in Fort Bliss, but not talking about it until now has helped me deal with it (that or I was just pretending that it wasn’t really happening). But now that we are coming up on it, I’m really trying not to get too overwhelmed by it all. I’m just looking forward to the happy things that are going to distract me, like spending Christmas with my family back in Idaho!

Cravings:

I’ve been eating up chocolate like it’s going out of style! They say that’s a sign that I might be carrying a little princess. We’ll find out next friday!

But seriously, chocolate milk, hot chocolate and chocolate chip cookies…aghhh I need an intervention!

What I’m looking forward to:

Okay, now I’m getting kind of excited to find out the gender so I can I start buying gender specific stuff, and pick out my bedding for the baby room. YAY!

18 week collage

Overall:

There is just a lot to do in the next few weeks! I’m trying to squeeze in as much husband & me time, and continue to get our house as organized as possible.

I’m still getting more tired every week that I’m getting farther along, but overall feeling good!

***

Thank you again for all your sweet comments regarding the upcoming deployment. It means a lot to know that I have so many people thinking of us, sending us good vibes and prayers our way. We’ll get through it, just as we have everything else. 🙂

18 thoughts on “Bump-date: Week 18

  1. Love that top! and that doll is a brilliant idea. I can’t wait to hear what the gender is… that always makes it so much more “real” as you can put a name to the baby and really start preparing more. I’m glad you’ll get to spend christmas with your family back home! I’m loving keeping up with your pregnancy, thanks for sharing!

  2. Chocolate makes everything better!! You have tons of people who care about you and will be there for you. You’re a very lucky lady and so is baby Alabama. I can’t wait to see you!!

  3. Chocolate is a life saver! eat up! I wish i could send you a big jar of nutella and some of my wedding chocolate chip cookies!!!
    that is such a cute doll. im sure the baby will love it.

  4. You’re looking FAB!!! 🙂 And umm how exciting that you get to find out the gender soon!!! (we don’t go until hopefully dec 21) I shall bask in your excitment to hold me over. Aside from getting the positive test and well seeing the baby, I think finding out gender will be one of the most exciting parts of this journey! I don’t know how people can wait! 😉

    p.s. that doll is such a great idea!!

  5. You have an amazing attitude, look forward to the positive 🙂

    Finding the gender out is so much fun! We went crazy buying clothes the weekend we found out, so did my sister and mom, haha. So I think he is going to be in different outfits ever day! hehe

  6. Cute maternity top! Finding out the gender is do exciting! You can start calling the baby by his/her name (if you have something in mind) and start imaging what the little baby might really look like. And the shopping is fun, too! Are you going to share the gender and name on the blog or wait for a big reveal?*

    • I will definitely share the big gender reveal on the blog shortly after we find out. I will prob wait until the baby is born to announce the name publicly.

      Sent from my iPhone

      On Nov 28, 2012, at 11:44 AM, “Linzi’s Life On The Run”

  7. I’ve never seen a deployment doll before… What a great idea!

    You look fabulous, as always. And as one commenter mentioned already, chocolate does make everything better.

    Can’t wait to find out if Baby Alabama will be a girl or boy!

  8. Im so glad I found your blog. It’s great to read updates from people who are going through similar things.

    My husband flew out last night for a work trip to the UK for two weeks. I could not stop crying. I felt so bad for making him feel so bad. We have never been apart for that long and when I got home and our place just seemed so quiet it was really hard. I cried all night. I have so much respect for military wives who do it all the time. You ladies are so strong. Hang in there!

    Nice to meet you!

    • Thanks Michelle, it’s nice to meet you too!! It will be fun to share our pregnancy experiences together! And I hear ya on the tears, this is our first deployment but I will be spending a lot of time with family so I think that will help.

Leave a Reply

