Baby Boy Nursery

I’m super excited to share with you the most up to date version of our little guy’s nursery!

I’ve been working on it over the last few weeks, and though I can’t say that it is completely done (we still need a glider, a crib skirt, and I hope to fill in some of the blank wall above the crib with a few newborn photos), it’s as done as it’s going to be for awhile.

room panorama

011

003

002

photo

009

005

jay

photo 1I am so happy with how all the colors (dark blue, grey, and gold) and stripes and chevron patterns have come together – especially with that striped wall!

I’ve seriously had a blast working on the baby nursery over the last few weeks. I think the best feeling is that I was able to incorporate a lot of DIY projects inspired from pinterest of course. Tomorrow you will get a post highlighting all the DIY projects from this room!

Also, this nursery has not cost me a whole lot of money either. I’ve been very conscious of things we already had around the house and ways to do this room on the cheap and I’m happy with the results!

***

Crib: Million Dollar Baby 4-in-1 Crib (Post Exchange)

Since we already owned a dresser in natural wood that would work perfectly as a dresser/changing table I knew that getting a natural crib was what I wanted. I was happy to find this crib at the PX and it also has a drawer on wheels underneath for added storage!

Curtains: Blue burlap chevron curtains (Hobby Lobby)

I was instantly in love with these curtains partially because of the chevron print, but I also liked the rustic burlap material. It seems to go well with the room. And I scored by using a 40% hobby lobby coupon per panel which saved me $26!

Dresser/Changing table:  We already owned this

Chevron night stand: A yard sale find…a little paint and contact paper love was all it needed

Striped lamp: Another previously owned item that received a little face lift

Blue chicken wire frame: A broken mirror turned into a chicken wire bulletin board!

Natural wood floating shelves: Target

Giraffe: Marshall’s clearance rack. This little guy stole my heart and I knew his crazy blue stripes would be a fun addition to the room.

Wood Letters: Hobby Lobby. I purchased the J-A-Y letters and used spray paint to give them a little color.

***

At first I was very overwhelmed with baby boy’s room being pinterest perfect. Since I slowly started to piece the room together I realized it could still fit my vision without all the frills.

And as you can see, besides the paint for the room, the crib, curtains and a few decorative pieces I was able to really pull this room together and on a budget! WIN-WIN!

The biggest thing I got out of this project was a sense of accomplishment, a lot of crafting skills I never knew I possessed, and a fun time.

***

I intend to add more photos of J. Alabama, the baby once he is born and other fun keepsakes to the chickenwire bulletin board. But for now it remains a bit bare.

9 thoughts on “Baby Boy Nursery

  1. Makes me all warm and fuzzy to see this!! It looks great!!
    We start putting the paint on the walls of our nursery this weekend and I still haven’t decided if I’m going to blog the process as we go, or if I’ll wait until it’s done! decisions, decisions! 😉

  2. Pingback: Pinterest Inspired Nursery Projects | Linzi's Life On The Run

Leave a Reply

